Learn more about


The WELL Building Standard has been launched in October 2014. 

Read more

ID card

Certification operator: US International WELL Building Institute. 

Date of creation: October 2014

Launched after six years of research and development, the WELL Building Standard™ (WELL™) is the world’s first standard focused exclusively on the ways that buildings, and everything in them, can improve our comfort, drive better choices, and generally enhance, not compromise, our health and wellness. WELL is developed and delivered by the International WELL Building Institute (IWBI), and is administered by Green Business Certification Inc. (GBCI), which administers the LEED certification program and the LEED professional credentialing program.

The WELL v2 pilot (v2.wellcertified.com) is a recently launched version of the WELL Building Standard, and the WELL Community Standard pilot is a district scale rating system that sets a new global benchmark for healthy communities. WELL v2 is designed to be applied by all buildings, streamlining and unifying several existing pilot programs and remaining flexible enough to accommodate novel project types.  


Number of projects: as of 7 September 2018, 991 projects encompassing 185 million sf in 35 countries (116 certified)

The WELL Building Standard v1 is organized into seven categories of wellness called concepts: Air, Water, Nourishment, Light, Fitness, Comfort and Mind.  These seven concepts are composed of over 100 features. Every feature is intended to address specific aspects of occupant health, comfort or knowledge. Each feature is divided into parts, which are often tailored to a specific building type. This means that depending on the project type (New and Existing Interiors, Core & Shell or New and Existing Buildings), only certain parts of a given feature may be applicable – but all are covered by the same standard WELL V1.




WELL Scorecard

Features can be either “preconditions,” which are mandatory requirements for certification, or “optimizations,” which are optional enhancements. Preconditions and optimizations were developed using performance-based and descriptive standards. To become a WELL Certified™ building or space and earn a Silver level award, all applicable preconditions must be satisfied. If a higher level of certification is desired (Gold or Platinum), a certain number of optimizations must be achieved. Depending on the project type, certain features may or may not apply.


Scoring system

In evaluating adherence to the WELL Building Standard, a project’s performance testing agent will grade each concept independently on a numerical scale. This concept-by-concept analysis is used to ensure that all preconditions are met for each concept, and the final WELL score is calculated based on the total preconditions and optimizations achieved across the board. The WELL scorecard is the aggregate of all the WELL scores for each concept.

WELL Certification requires a passing score in each of the seven categories of the WELL Building Standard. It is awarded at one of three levels: Silver, Gold and Platinum.

WELL website: https://www.wellcertified.com/